My Birthday Adventure Day – 13/04/2013

I turned 22 on this birthday, and to be honest, I wasn’t really fussed. From the age of 18 till my 21st, I did so much with my family and my friends to celebrate the fact I was a year older. But this year, I arranged for a clubbing night, and that was really it.

But my lovely boyfriend Sam suggested we could go up to London and go and see the David Bowie exhibition at the V&A that I kept going on about, and have some food and just have a nice day up there, so I was excited.

I woke up and I opened my presents from my family, and off we went on our little trip.

It was a bit of a miserable day; it was cloudy and a little bit chilly. We rushed all the way to the V&A because we would have to queue up for tickets as all the online ones sold out. We saw the queue and my heart dropped. They said there were only limitied tickets avaliable on the door.

But we managed to get to the front, and got our tickets and off we went into the mad world of Bowie.
It was incredible.

We got given audio guides for us to listen to throughout the exhibition, and there was something a bit weird about hearing his voice telling me why he written Starman. From video and audio footage, from costume designs on paper to the real thing, to handwritten notes and lyrics, I had a lump in my throat the whole time I was there. (If you want a full review of my experience there, please read: David Bowie Is – The V&A Exhibition you MUST see

After the exhibition, I thought we would be going to find some food or just have a look around, but Sam told me we had to rush to Embankment. This was a surprise! I got all excited but couldn’t work out what it could be.
We ended up outside the Savoy Theatre and he surprised me with the Matinee show of Let it be.

If you know me, you know I love The Beatles. I have the whole back catalogue at home (thanks to my dad also being a fan) and it was a show I have wanted to see for ages. Also, a plus, we got upgraded due to the fact they closed the area we were sitting in, so we got to upgrade to the stalls!

I didn’t know what to expect. I guess I thought it would either be like Jersey Boys where the story is about the band Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons, or be like We will rock you, where the story is completely made up but they use the music score from Queen. But, no; it was neither.

Let it be was different. There was no real story. It was like a 2 hour gig, going from their early days till when they split. Hardly any talking, but just four guys paying tribute to one of the greatest bands in the world. Sure, some might say it was a glorified tribute act; but seriously. I have seen many Beatles tribute acts, but nothing compares to this.

The costumes show which era and album we were experiencing, the hits kept a coming. The few times they did talk to the audience, their accents were spot on.

I came out with the biggest smile on my face. I loved it and want to see it again and you should too!

Leave a Reply

