It is ironic how appreciation goes about unappreciated

How many times have we all done a favour for a friend, or a work colleague, and all we get is a measly “cheers” when really, you expect something more? Saying “cheers” is fine if I passed my friend a napkin, or hole punched some work for my friend at work, but not for when you do something a little bit more, you AT LEAST deserve a “thank you”.

Thing is, I think in this day and age, we are really rude. When I have opened the door for someone to walk through, and I get nothing, that outrages me. When if someone asks for a pen and I give it to them, something I just get a grunt. What is wrong with you?! I won’t bother next time shall I?

Ok, they are little situations which maybe I am taking a little bit too far, but this is because lately I have realised that yes, I might say “thank you” to the pen lending friend, but I don’t always say it when really, someone has gone out of their way to help me out.

What I mean is, if a friend saved my life, of course I would say “thank you” but sometimes even the not so obvious act of friendship or favour needs some appreciation.

I have a habit when I am ill to take it out on the people who mean the most to me. I get snappy, and moody, and actually, I am quite rude. Then what gets me upset afterwards when I realise how nasty I have been, is the fact they are still there helping me out trying to show that what I have been saying hasn’t effected them. Of course it would; I was horrible. But the fact that they have stayed and that they are still there wanting to help me means so much. When the bad day passes, I am very apologetic, but really, I need to snap out of it. I need to calm down and stop being so nasty and playing the victim when I am not feeling my greatest. I am not a nasty person, not intentionally, and the last thing I want is for the people who mean the most to me suddenly one day hold their hands up and surrender and walk out.

So ok, I m not promising to be the golden girl, I am not promising that when someone does a favour for me I will go over the top with my appreciation, but I will promise to show my appreciation to stop them feeling so unappreciated. 

Leave a Reply

