"Enjoy the little things in life… For one day, you’ll look back and realise they were the big things." – Robert Brault

Seeing as I haven’t yet started my last semester of university, I have had a lot of free time on my hands. I have had time to catch up with my friends, do some work, and try and get my foot out into the big wide world. But whilst all this is going on, there is an underlying issue. The fact that really, I don’t think I want to finish university.

 
I remember the day I moved down to Southampton from Essex, and I was excited yet scared about the three years which seem to stretch in front of me. I remember seeing students graduating that year thinking that is me in three years time, and through the first semester actually contemplating quitting and coming home. The only thing that stopped me were my flatmates, who I became so close to they were my family, and I knew as soon as I left university, I would regret it. 
 
That one semester seemed to drag, and I really did not make the most of my first year at all. I just couldn’t wait till I got home and got to see my family and friends. This was until after Christmas that year. I became great friends with some girls on my course. Now, those girls are actually my best friends. We went out for coffee, we went shopping, we went out for nights of drinking. I was gutted when I had to head home that summer away from these guys. But I knew I still had another two years of this to go.
 
Second year started and it didn’t start to well, but I had my best friends come and pick me up from my miserable ways and they were there for me when times got rough. I got to experience some pretty cool things in my second year such as going to New York and the Royal wedding street party, but the main thing about second year was that I grew up. I made some mistakes, pretty big ones too, but I also did well with my degree, and I learnt some life lessons along the way. That is something that University does to you. Sure, we all get ridiculously drunk and end up being a mess, or we spent too much money so that means we can’t eat for a week, but we really do learn a lot about ourselves.
But now in third year, and time is going passed way to fast. We have a lot more work to do, we have to party less and we have to prioritise more, but yet we are still making memories, and that is what we have got to hold on too. We are leaving in May, we will have to move onto the next chapter of our lives, but we will always think back on these days where we learnt that I can’t actually handle a medium heat on my Nandos, that I can only drink 3 Kryptonites before I feel ill, or that it takes us exactly 20 minutes from my friends house to our local pub. It is the little stuff like that that makes us who we are today, and I am having fun doing it. Don’t dwell on the bad stuff of your past, and also don’t dwell on the future. We do not know what is going to happen to us. 

Leave a Reply

