"If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change." – Wayne Dyer.

This summer I haven’t been myself at all. My mood has been either up or down, and very rarely I have been content.

I have written a lot of blogs over my 4 month summer as I have had a lot of time on my hands, and I have had a lot to think about, and a lot of spare time. Over thinking actually has deluded me and actually at times, I lost all sense of reality.

But as it is coming up to the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks, a lot of documentaries and newspaper articles have popped up. I really enjoy reading and watching documentaries on events such as this as I like to know what went on, and where more people are willing to talk about their ordeal, it is interesting to hear from their perspective.

But whilst I have been watching or reading these entries by real people, it made me realise how little my problems were. I was a tad unhappy about my body, I don’t have a job, a guy I like doesn’t notice me etc. These people lost their loved ones in such a horrific way.

I went to New York last December and I was lucky to visit Ground Zero. Just before I got to the sight, I was in a mood. I felt ill, I was down because just before that trip, a guy I liked didn’t like me and I was cold. But then I was standing at Ground Zero, and as I was standing there, it dawned on me that tourists, workers and even locals would have just been standing where I was, or even walking to a day out or to work, then suddenly, the most horrific thing happens. 3,000 people died on that one, ordinary day, and there I was, with all my worries slipping away, and I felt ashamed by my own selfishness. None of us can even remotely feel what went through the minds and bodies of the victims of that horrific day. Whether it is the person trapped in the building, running out of the buildings, or the families of the victims. It really struck a chord.

It just made me realise that there are people out there who have had tragedies occur in their life, and they deserve to be upset. But usually, after a while, they pick themselves up and then end up stronger due to this. It has made me think twice about what I moan and whinge about.
 

In a nutshell, we can all moan, we can all feel down. But before you start claiming how depressed or upset you because your boyfriend didn’t say I love you back, or because someone left a dirty dish or two, just have sometime to yourself and have a reality check. Life is short, and is full of ups and downs, but we all need to start looking at the positives, and realise things can be a hell of a lot worse.

Leave a Reply

